Alaska Press Club 2015
This year our Alaska Press Club sessions will take place at the University of Alaska Anchorage and at Alaska Public Media, April 23 to 25. Become an Alaska Press Club member to receive entry to conference sessions.

Please check back for more information as it is announced!

Questions or concerns? Email


Coming to our conference April 23-25?! You can stay at the SpringHill Suites at University Lakefor discounted rates ($109 + 12% tax per night), make reservations by April 1, 2015. Contact the reservation center at 1-888-284-1887 and let the reservation agent know you need to make a reservation out of the block of rooms under “Alaska Press Club.”


Lam Thuy Vo | @lamthuyvo

Vo strives to bring nuance and clarity to economic issues in the U.S. and abroad with whatever media is best suited to tell a story. Her jobs have allowed her to explore stories around the globe on various platforms. Currently, she’s the interactive editor for Al Jazeera America, where she runs a team of coder-journalists and covers poverty-related stories. Previously, she’s worked as a visual journalist for NPR’s Planet Money and as the editorial lead for The Wall Street Journal’s video operations in Asia.

Abraham Hyatt | @abrahamhyatt

Hyattis a contributing editor at Circa and the editor and co-founder of Oakland Police Beat, which was named as a finalist for an Online Journalism Award for explanatory reporting in 2014. Police Beat is an independent, data-driven investigative journalism project funded by the Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation and the Fund for Investigative Journalism.

Erin Hennessey | @erininsea

Hennessey is news director at KPLU-FM, which serves Seattle, Tacoma and much of the rest of The Puget Sound. She took over the newsroom in 1996, after five years as KPLU’s All Things Considered host and reporter. Erin is a native of Spokane and a graduate of the University of Washington and London’s City University – Center for Journalism Studies. She’s also worked in the film industry and as a print journalist in London and New York.

Judy Muller | @judusc

Award-winning broadcast journalist Judy Muller is a professor at USC’s Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism. Previously, she was a correspondent for ABC News for fifteen years, reporting for such broadcasts as World News with Peter Jennings, Nightline and 20/20. From 1980 to 1990, she was a correspondent for CBS News, reporting for the radio network and for the television broadcast Sunday Morning. She is also a commentator for NPR’s “Morning Edition” and APR’s “Marketplace Money”. In recent years, she has been a contributing correspondent to KCET TV’s “SoCal Connected,” where her reporting has won numerous honors, including a George Foster Peabody award, a Columbia DuPont, an Emmy and two Golden MICs. She is currently a contributing correspondent for Al Jazeera America and PBS NewsHour. Her latest book, about weekly newspapers in America, is entitled “Emus Loose in Egnar: Big Stories from Small Towns” (July, 2011, Univ. of Nebraska Press). She is also the author of “Now This – Radio, Television and the Real World” (April, 2000, Putnam). Muller has also written for numerous publications, including Sports Illustrated and the New York Times Magazine.

Tim Rasmussen | @denverpost

Tim Rasmussen is the Assistant Managing Editor of photography and multimedia at The Denver Post. The Post photography staff has won numerous awards, including the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for Breaking News Reporting. The 2012 and 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Feature Photography Awarded to Craig Walker. Pictures of the Year International McDougall Overall Excellence in Editing Award 2012, three 2013 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, and Best Use of Photography from NPPA’s Best of Photojournalism and 21 Regional Emmy’s. The Denver Post’s documentary film, “The Fire Line,” was selected to a number of film festivals including Starz, Crested Butte, Vail amount others. Before joining the Post Tim was the Director of Photography of the South Florida Sun-Sentinel in Fort Lauderdale Florida. Tim started his photo editing career as Visuals Editor at the Free Lance-Star in Fredericksburg, Virginia. Where the paper was awarded Best use of pictures from Pictures of the Year in 2002.

Stephanie Foo | @imontheradio

Stephanie Foo is a producer at This American Life, where she tells stories through radio and video. Prior to that, she was one of the original producers of NPR’s Snap Judgment,where she helped develop the show’s unique style and sound. Her work has also aired on shows like 99% Invisible and Radiolab.

Mary Hudetz | @marymhudetz

Mary Hudetz, based in Phoenix, is editor-in-chief of Native Peoples Magazine and president of the Native American Journalists Association.
She is a former editor on The Associated Press’ West Regional Desk in Phoenix, where she edited and filed national breaking news stories and daily stories on a broad range of topics in states from the Rocky Mountains to Alaska to Hawaii. She also worked with an editorial team to develop stories specifically about Native issues and communities. Most recently, she also contributed to The Washington Post’s She the People, a blog focused on women in the news, politics and culture, and Al Jazeera America online. She is a graduate of Fordham University and the Freedom Forum’s American Indian Journalism Institute at the University of South Dakota.

Marianne McCune | @mariannemccune

Marianne McCune

Marianne McCune has spent most of the last decade and a half reporting in New York for NPR (most recently, Planet Money) and WNYC. She has followed her stories from the nooks and crannies of Brooklyn and the Bronx to Pakistan, Ethiopia, Haiti, Colombia and elsewhere. McCune is also the founder and longtime editor of Radio Rookies, WNYC’s award-winning series of stories from New York teenagers. Currently, she’s living in San Francisco and experimenting with a new medium: audio walks with a company called Detour.

Note from the Alaska Press Club Board:

Our most sincere condolences to the family and New York Times colleagues of David Carr, who died unexpectedly. He was scheduled to give the keynote speech at our conference in April.

From the Times article: “David Carr, a writer who wriggled away from the demon of drug addiction to become a name-brand media columnist at The New York Times, and the star of “Page One,” a documentary about the newspaper, died on Thursday in Manhattan. He was 58.”

Here is the bio he submitted for his planned 2015 Alaska Press Club Conference talk.


Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: