Mark your calendars! Our conference takes place April 20-22, 2017.

img_4924Keynote: Jenna Johnson is a political reporter at The Washington Post who covers the White House and the political movement that President Trump sparked. She spent more than a year writing about Trump’s presidential campaign, traveling to 35 states to attend more than 170 political rallies and interview hundreds of Trump supporters. Jenna has worked at the Post for nearly 10 years and previously covered Maryland politics, higher education, local news and a number of breaking news stories, including the Aurora movie theater shooting, the Boston bombings and the trial of Jerry Sandusky. She grew up in Omaha and graduated from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, although her parents now live in rural Iowa where they own two weekly newspapers.

Presenters: Matt Pearl, Ann Gerhart, Matt Eich, Kirk Siegler, Ellen Mayer, Lam Thuy Vo, Ben Connors, Lindsay Claiborn and Fabi Reyna. More on presenters…

Travel Scholarships.

The Alaska Press Club is offering travel assistance awards for working journalists and journalism students to attend the annual J-Week professional conference. More here.

Travel Discounts.

Email if you’d like to find out more about discounts on Alaska Airlines flights for conference attendees.


Alaska Press Club members can reserve discount rooms at Springhill Suites.  Here is the reservation link attendees can use to make online reservations: Book your group rate for Alaska Press Club ConferenceBook before March 31 to get a special rate of $109/night + tax for Wednesday through Saturday nights!

Awards Celebration.

Please join us for the Alaska Press Club Awards on April 22, 2017. See our contest page for info on how to enter our awards contest starting in January!

Student Showcase.

Please consider presenting at our 2017 Student Showcase at the Alaska Press Club Conference. Email: for more information. High school and college students are encouraged to apply. Deadline: April 3, 2017


Questions or concerns? Email


Help make the conference amazing. It takes many hands to put on a conference and there are a number of ways you can help out. Volunteers will receive a conference shirt or a ticket to the awards banquet depending on quantities available. Email


Become an Alaska Press Club member to receive entry to conference sessions.

General $30 | Associate $45 | Student $10

Become a member!

Many thanks to our partners!

Online News Association • KRUA 88.1 FM • The Northern Light •  Alaska Public Media • UAA Department of Journalism and Communication • CoastAlaska • Better Newspaper Contests • Archive in a Box • Alaska Teen Media Institute • Anchorage Press • Alaska Commons •  KTVA • National Public Radio